My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Eggless Breakfast Is Here

Leave a comment

Let’s talk breakfast!

 

I am in LOVE with breakfast. It wasn’t always that way… I used to be more of a brunch girl. I found it hard to get up in the morning and eat, it just wasn’t my thing. Daryl, on the other hand, is a TOTAL breakfast person. He cannot function without breakfast in the morning. So, I had to learn to be a breakfast person.

 

The weekends are great, I don’t have to worry about getting up and making breakfast. That’s a “blue” job (yes, we have blue/pink jobs… it’s a joke, don’t accost me on my own blog). He gets up, makes some sort of amazing breakfast involving eggs, and I snuggle with the kids while he does it. Or I drink my coffee and watch Paw Patrol. Whatever.

 

The weekdays, however, can sometimes be a bit of a struggle for me. During LoseIt (and since) the rule was: Eat within 30 minutes of getting up. The why for that is simple: to get that metabolism moving first thing in the morning. It makes total sense to me; you’ve been sleeping all night, your metabolism is slowed down, you gotta do something to jump start it in the morning. But that doesn’t mean I am fully functional and ready to use a stove/oven that early in the morning.

 

Enter: Overnight oats into my life. I must admit, I was skeptical to try them at first. I mean… I LOVE oatmeal, don’t get me wrong. I cannot eat it all the time, but when I do eat it, I LOVE it. I shy away from packaged oats with all their fake flavors and sugars, and opt instead for some yummy old fashioned rolled oats, or the steel cut variety. I like my oats with a splash of almond milk, a drizzle of real maple syrup (seriously a very small drizzle), loads of fresh fruit (think bananas, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, peaches, whatever I happen to have on hand), and some almonds. OMG SO YUM. But it takes a stove to make all that nonsense, because who wants to eat their oats cold? You do. Trust me.

 

Overnight oats are just that… oats that you put in the fridge overnight in a cute little mason jar like you see on Pinterest, or in a boring old container with a lid. They’re soaked with a few other things, and in the morning you open, top, and devour. And trust me when I say you WILL devour them. They’re thick (or thin if you add more milk to them in the morning), they’re tasty, and they’re SO filling. I eat them, and am going strong until lunch. They’re perfect for you working moms and dads who LITERALLY don’t have time to make breakfast in the morning, or you night owls who love to stay up late and are rushed to get out the door in the morning.

 

So, in the spirit of sharing is caring (because that’s what we do in this space): I give you… Peanut Butter Overnight Oats. Oh yes, we did. This morning I added strawberries, blueberries, almonds, and a little bit of almond milk to it and I KID YOU NOT, PEOPLE…. PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY OATMEAL. Holy freaking delicious. It would be KILLER with some cocoa powder and chocolate chips too. OMG. Ahem. Sorry.

 

Here you go! If you’ve never tried overnight oats before, I suggest this recipe. It’s perfect.

 

1/2 c almond milk

3/4 Tbsp chia seeds

2 Tbsp natural peanut butter (you know, the kind that’s just peanuts) or almond butter

1 Tbsp real maple syrup (you could leave this out if you wanted)

1/2 c rolled oats

 

In the bottom of a mason jar (or a container with a lid), mix almond milk, chia seeds, peanut butter and syrup. You don’t HAVE to mix the peanut butter completely in, if you don’t, it leaves these little pockets of peanutty goodness to enjoy. Add oats and stir again, then use the back of the spoon to push down oats and make sure they are covered with the milk. Close up tight, put in the fridge for at least 6 hours… but 12-24 is best.

 

Top with whatever you’d like: bananas, strawberries, almonds, chocolate chips (yeah, I’m doin this next time… probably not, but SOMEONE PLEASE), whatever you want.

 

 

You’re welcome.

 

 

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

