My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

RBT

Leave a comment

If you’ve been unplugged for the last week or so, or living under a rock, you may not have heard the latest thing that the Internet is raging about; Rapist Brock Turner (thanks for the idea This website). Go ahead, click that link, I’ll wait.

If you’re not wanting to click, it’s okay, I’ll fill you in. Rapist Brock Turner decided to take something that didn’t belong to him, behind a dumpster, from an unconscious woman. Rapist Brock Turner was caught in the act, by two passerby, tackled, and arrested. Rapist Brock Turner was then tried, convicted, and sentenced…. Here’s the kicker; the judge decided that Rapist Brock Turner should only spend 6 months in county jail instead of the maximum 14 years in prison. 

Caught up?

Awesome.

Let’s chat.

If you don’t know, I was raped when I was 16 years old. By a guy I knew, in his apartment, after a night of heavy drinking. What I experienced is NOTHING compared to what this poor woman went through. Anytime I read a story about sexual assault it’s a trigger for me. But this? This is crazy upsetting. To everyone. Here’s why:

Rapist Brock Turner violated this woman. Rapist Brock Turner was caught. Rapist Brock Turner was tried and convicted. Rapist Brock Turner’s dad spoke out about how unfairly his son is being treated. Rapist Brock Turner’s FEMALE friend spoke on his behalf about how he is not a rapist because he didn’t kidnap his victim. Rapist Brock Turner was represented by his swimming talent, his “bright future,” and his All-American lifestyle. I’ll just let that sink in for a while….

Rape culture is a thing. We perpetuate it by allowing people like Rapist Brock Turner off the hook. He’s a rapist. He took something that did not belong to him from a woman who could not (and by her accounts would not) give him permission. Rapist Brock Turner had zero regard for this woman, her dignity, her body. As a mother of two boys, I am appalled at the attitude that Rapist Brock Turner’s father has taken 

We need to teach our boys (and girls) to be respectful of others’ bodies, that what is not theirs is not for the taking, that when someone says “no” it means no, that when they cannot say “no” it DOES NOT mean “yes.” We need to stop placing blame on those who have their freedom, dignity, pride, self-esteem, self-love, self-worth stolen from them. STOLEN. Because that’s what Rapist Brock Turner did to this woman. He stole from her.

I read something about how a person got six months in jail for stealing cable from their neighbor. That is worthy of six months. Stealing a piece of someone is not. It is worthy of so much more time. 

I have much more happy things to talk about this week… But this is so important. So much more important. Conversations need to happen, the Internet got this one right… Raging is appropriate here. Rapist Brock Turner is not an All-American, Olympic hopeful swimmer. He is a rapist. And should be treated as such. 

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

