My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Your Raw Self

Leave a comment

I came across this earlier today, and I’ve been mulling it around in my head for the last few hours. I posted it in my Lose It group as some motivation for them as they are entering the halfway point this week. It’s an interesting quote, and one that really pulls at my heart for a number of reasons.

1) there are people in my life who truly see themselves as the sum of their stuff. That they’re super successful because they own a house, have newer cars, make a lot of money, etc. For many years, I thought that’s what being successful looked like. 

2) there are also people in my life who thrive on being popular. Having SO many “friends” or even just that everyone knows their name/who they are/their whole life story. For many years, and even sometimes to this day, I thought that I would be happier with more close friends. 

3) I truly believe that there is a problem with body image in our society. I don’t think that models have unrealistic bodies, I think that their bodies are what their bodies are, and they work hard for them. I think that we focus so much on clothes sizes, scale number, and body fat percentage that we forget that we are all different, and healthy looks different on all of us. For a LONG time, I hid behind the number on the scale, and I let it define me. It wasn’t until recently that I stopped caring so much about that number, and started caring more about how I felt, how my clothes fit, how I slept, etc.

I always thought I had a pretty good idea of who I was. I always thought I knew deep down the kind of person I was, the things I was capable of doing, the things I found important. This journey is changing ALL of that. I have had to strip away the numbers.
Weight loss programs, gym memberships, personal training certifications? Not cheap, especially in a one income house.

Losing weight, changing your lifestyle, meeting new people? You end up losing friends sometimes. Yes, you gain more, but sometimes it’s a VERY lonely road because you HAVE to put yourself first.

Losing weight means no longer being able to make the excuse of “I’m too big, I can’t do that.” It’s a scary thing. To know that you’re capable of so much more than you have been giving. To realize that number on the scale was holding you back. 

I am discovering that I am a better person than I thought I was, at the core. That I’m more capable, I’m stronger, I’m fierce, I’m energetic, and I’m determined. My raw self is someone I have discovered, and I am in love with her. 
And that makes me a better mother, a better wife, a better daughter, a better friend. And that? That makes me more successful than any physical thing I could ever own. 

Just something to think about.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

