My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

My Brain Is In Overdrive

Leave a comment

Family.

 

It’s a term that I have examined for many, many years. Sometimes family doesn’t turn out to be the people that you’re blood related to, or even marriage related to. Sometimes they end up being the people you choose to let in.

 

I’m pretty lucky. My whole life I’ve had a group of people who have surrounded me and supported me (in their own weird ways). I grew up with two parents, both of whom tried their best to raise me right and make sure that I had everything that I needed both emotionally and physically. And even though they couldn’t stay together, they gifted me with the best step-parents in the whole wide world.

 

I also ended up with some pretty awesome aunts and uncles on all sides. And though I have lost some along the way, I’ve been really lucky to have them around. And as I get older, I find myself getting to know them in a whole new way that’s pretty amazing.

 

As I get older, and those I cherish get older with me, I find myself really fortunate to get to spend time with all these people in my life. I am also really lucky in the sense that we can all come together and help each other through whatever is going on in our lives.

 

My grandfather was an amazing man, who married an equally amazing woman. I spent a lot of my childhood with them. And we are very close. And losing my grandfather was really, really hard. Equally hard is what’s going on with my grandmother now. But in the end, I’m so happy I can spend time with her, and the rest of my family. And I’m glad I can kiss her forehead and tell her I love her. And I’m glad that I can spend my mornings at her kitchen table looking out over the golf course that she taught me how to play golf on. And I’m glad I can hear her voice, and her laugh, as we talk about all the mischief I got into. I’m living in the now, and the present, and taking advantage of the fact that I’m surrounded by people I love, and am crazy about, and have grown with.

 

They’re my family. And I’d be crazy not to be thankful for them all.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

