My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Get Moving

Leave a comment

So, it’s pretty clear to anyone that has been around for the last few months that I’m pretty into my workouts. I spend a minimum of an hour a day sweating it out, sometimes more, depending on the day. I’m pretty lucky in the sense that I belong to gym, and have been going to this class, and have a love for running. It wasn’t always that way.

 

Remember THIS?

 

Yeah, I remember back in August when I signed up for this class, and I was scared because I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I didn’t know what to expect, and the only thing I knew of classes or boot camps was from my childhood watching my mother take step. Well… here we are, the start of round three, and I am in LOVE with most of the workouts I have done (there’s one called “Double You” and it’s awful).

 

My week right now looks a little like this:

Monday: PowerPump and VeloCross classes. A strength class and a spin class. Which I thought the spinning class would be awful, but the more I do it, the more I enjoy it. Those two classes are a total of an hour.

Tuesday: I run. I run 3.11 miles, and if I’m outside I run/walk. I run two telephone poles, walk one. This has been the case for the last month or so, and just recently I have been running more than once a week, so my amount of time running has been more. However, I have MAJOR issues breathing in the cold… so I’ve been running on the treadmill at the gym. It’s been going really well. 🙂

Wednesday: This last week I tried something new, and I think I may have liked it. I took VeloCross which is an hour long cross training class. It was a REALLY hard work out, but I felt really good afterwards. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to eat beforehand, so by the time my usual Yoga class started… I was pretty beat. But. It was good, and I may do it again. And then there’s Yoga. And I LOVE Yoga. That’s an hour of cross training and an hour of yoga.

Thursday: Run, again. 3.11 miles. Outdoors or in. Doesn’t matter as long as I run. Currently I’m at about 40:00.

Friday: Friday has been different each week. Some weeks I go to BootCamp and PowerPump (30 minutes each), some weeks I go and run for about 30 minutes (almost 2 miles), and some weeks I go and do a workout that I’ve stolen from my trainers (see below). Whatever it is, it’s between 30 minutes and an hour. And some weeks I take Friday off. It depends on how I’m feeling. I try REALLY hard to get some sort of movement in on this day because I feel icky and grumpy without it. But some weeks my body needs the day off.

Saturday: I run. 3.5 miles. Currently this is my long distance. I’m hoping it will increase as the time goes on (and it will). Because Striders starts on the 9th. And I’m training for a 15K in April, and my half marathon in June. So my mileage will go up. On all running days. I’ve been to a yoga class or two on a Saturday morning, but that class kinda intimidates me. I know, I need to just suck it up and go to it. Because how am I supposed to get better without challenging myself?

Sunday: I workout in the morning, early, with my fitness family at the gym. I usually steal a workout from our trainers. And it usually lasts about 45 minutes. And it’s fun, because my workout buddies push me a little harder, and a little longer, and we laugh about how “awesome” it is to be there at 7:00 am on a Sunday.

 

So that’s what my week looks like. Every day, I get out and get moving. I find that if I don’t? I’m pissy. I yell a lot more. I feel bloated, and gross, and overweight. Would I find it possible to do these things without going to the gym? Yes. The great thing about these workouts is that with a few things at home, I could do them here. Some weights, a mat, a bench (although a makeshift one would be okay), and maybe a jump rope. So.

 

In light of the new year, and in the spirit of resolutions and such. I thought that I would share a workout or two with you. Some of my favorites, the ones that I do on Sundays with my peeps, or Fridays by myself. Ones that get me sweating, and make me feel like I got something accomplished at the end of them. I’m not a personal trainer, I don’t pretend to know what is best for everyone, and I should probably put a disclaimer in here that you’re doing these at your own risk.

 

Crazy 8s

Push Ups

Tricep Dips

Squat Press

Squat Jump

Bench run up (each side)

Deadlifts

Weighted burpee/bicep curl

8 reps of each exercise

8 rounds of all 8 exercises

1 set stairs (or 1 min cardio – jump rope, jumping jacks, something) between each round.

40 minute time limit (that’s right, it’s timed).

Once you’re done: 25 sit ups, 45 sec plank x 3

Drop 10

100 squats

90 hip raises (45 each side)

80 bicep curls (40 each side)

70 skull crushers

60 crab toe touch

50 mountain climbers

40 full sit-ups

30 wall balls

20 push ups

10 man makers

Ab Workout

(I combine this with a 20 min cardio session)

Side plank – left – 1 min

Side plank – right – 1 min

Rest – 30 sec

2 rounds

Left side crunches – 1 min

Right side crunches – 1 min

Plank twists – 1 min

V-sit crunches – 1 min

Hip raises – 1 min

Rest – 1 min

3 rounds total

1 min each:

Around the world burpees

Squat push press

Inverted Rows

Kettleball swings (can do with single weight)

Deadlifts

Man Makers

Thrusters

Push Ups

Run Ups

Renegade Rows

You can Google any of these exercises online and see a demonstration of what they are. Like I said, I’m no trainer, and you do these workouts at your own risk. And they’re not easy, by any means. So stay hydrated, stay motivated in 2016, but most of all…. STAY MOVING! 🙂

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

