My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Happy New Year, Y’all!

2 Comments

Well, here we are, 2016. And as I said yesterday, I’m really excited to leave 2015 behind and start a new year.2015 was not a great year for us, for a lot of reasons, but I’m not going to focus on that. Because that? That would be counter productive. So instead, I’m focusing on my goals for 2016.

The one that I struggle with the most is finding my inner zen. Sure, I’m doing yoga (a lot actually, and I LOVE it). And when I get home, or am done at home, I feel really peaceful. And I feel like I could take on the world. I’ve made it a point to make sure I have a few hours to myself every single day (whether it’s at the gym, or here at home locked away in my room) so that I don’t sell my children off to the first bidder. But these last few weeks have really caused my inner zen to disappear like the snow on a sunny day. Very, very slowly, until it’s just…. gone.

So that’s why I’ve come back to blogging. Daryl thinks it’s something else, like something buried that I don’t talk about every single day. Something nibbling at the edge of my patience. And he may be right. There’s a lot that I think about, every single day, and I don’t get the chance to get it all out. Hopefully writing will lead to some self discovery, and maybe something will pop out and be dealt with. Then, maybe, just maybe, my inner zen will come back.

 

In the meantime, what do you guys do to calm yourself? I know all the normal stuff, count to ten, remove yourself from the situation, etc, etc. I’m curious about what you do to prevent yourself from getting to that point. Do you meditate? Do you yoga? What do you do to keep your cool?

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year, Y’all!

  1. My therapist recently said that she has had patients with anxiety get relief from sensory input. I will lay on the floor with my feet straight up on the wall and breath. She’s had patients who benefit from rocking in a chair, weighted blankets/vests, compression shirts, trampolines, music, sound muffling head muff things. It might be worth a try.

    My best friend and I also vent at each other throughout the day. Sometimes it just helps for me to say how I’m feeling. The more it festers inside, the more it affects me.

    I also like having something to look forward to. If I’m faced with endless day after day of the same things it feels more daunting. Knowing it’s coming helps me to stay positive.

    (It made me login after I tried to post my comment and it didn’t confirm it was submitted. Feel free to delete if this is a duplicate!)

    • I may try the feet against the wall thing, that sounds awesome to me. 🙂

      I, too, like to have something to look forward to. So getting back to class will be a good thing for me, I will have that to look forward to starting on the 11th.

      Christmas break doesn’t help. The lack of structure and having both of them home ALL DAY makes me wanna run and hide in the bathtub for hours. Thankfully it’s over in a few days!!!

Leave a Reply

