My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

NEW things for 2016

Leave a comment

So tomorrow is the beginning of a new year. And unlike MOST years, I’m actually looking forward to 2016. Maybe it’s because I’m going into it with my fitness goal WELL underway, or maybe it’s because 2015 was one of the worst years in recent memory. And while there are still things that may come in 2016 that will be difficult, I’m ready to take on the new year with a few goals in mind.

 

So. Having said that, and much to many peoples’ dismay, here’s my list of resolutions for 2016 (or goals, as I like to call them).

 

  1. Stay on track with my change in lifestyle. I would like to see 2016 come to a close in the same way that 2015 did… healthier, stronger, fitter, making wise choices with food and exercising every single day. I have done SO well these last few months, and I FEEL awesome, that I think that this goal will pretty much just happen naturally. I will probably do a Whole30 or 6 during this year, and if you’re looking for information about that, or would like to join me, let me know. I can point you in the right direction. 🙂
  2. Run a half marathon in 2016. This is going to happen. In San Diego, on June 5th (I think, it may be the 4th), I am going to participate in the Rock n Roll Half Marathon. I’m registered, and we are planning the trip this month (booking hotels, etc). I am REALLY looking forward to this goal, and have several mini goals that will help me get there; more racing this spring, running training (starts January 9th), LoseIt class (strength and endurance training). I’m really, really excited to do it just to say I’ve done it.
  3. Blog more. I was just saying to Daryl the other day that I needed to get back to writing. I spend a LOT of time with kids, all day, in fact. And sometimes, I find the conversation to be less than desirable (okay, MOST of the time). I also find my patience wearing thin (see next goal), and that I don’t really have an outlet for all of that. So, back to blogging I go. And that means no holds barred, no limits, no rules, no reservations blogging. Pure, raw blogging. Sometimes I may password protect things simply to protect myself and my little family, but mostly you’re gonna hear about it all; the good, the bad, the ugly.
  4. Try and find my inner zen. These last few weeks have been really tough, and my patience is wearing thin. I don’t know if it’s due to Christmas Vacation (which by the way, is the devil) or what, but MAN have I flown off the handle once or twice (a day). So. It’s time to find my chill, and I think goal #3 will help with that, more yoga will help with that, better eating (I’ve been munching on some grains which makes me a little grouchy) will help with that. But I would like to know what YOU guys do to find your chill, whether it’s with co-workers or kids, what do YOU do when you feel like yelling things all over the place? Let me know in the comments.
  5. Get out more. With my husband, without my kids, alone. We NEVER go out. I think in the last eight years (that’s since Oliver has been born) we’ve MAYBE been out on three dates. I’ve put a plan in motion to make this happen more often, like twice a month more often. We barely see each other and when we do it’s “hey, here’s dinner, I gotta go to class, bye.” Or “OH! Let’s watch Homeland, k goodnight.” So, that’s happening.

 

There’s a bunch of little stuff that I’m mulling over in my head about how things are run around here, and chores, and allowances, and such. But those are the big ones. The ones that I hope to accomplish by the end of 2016. This year feels different, mostly because I know what I’m capable of now. And that downs are just a way to pick yourself back up and do better. And that things aren’t always what they seem, and people aren’t always what they seem, and I don’t need to rely on them so much anymore. That I have the power, within myself, to do the things that *I* want to do, and if that means I do them alone, that’s what I do.

 

2015 has taught me A LOT about myself, about my boys, about my family, about my friends. It’s been one of the most trying years in recent memory, and I’m so very thankful that it got as hard as it did. That things got really, scary, freakishly dark for a long time. I’m glad that decisions were made, and boundaries were drawn, and lives were changed. My hope for 2016 is a fresh start in this new, weird, healthy, active lifestyle.

 

What are YOUR 2016 goals???

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

