My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

A Few Pick Me Up Recipes

Leave a comment

Well HI THERE!

Now that we got all that out of our system… back to normal around here: food, fitness, and Miss Sunshine Rainbow Happy Pants.

Okay, let’s face it, I am not always that person. Last week was a very hard, and very emotional week for me for a few reasons. Least of them being that it was my last week of the six week LoseIt program. And, if I’m being honest, I was a little scared about how this week would go. We talked about it with our amaze balls trainer on Monday night, and how we could “maintain” this week, but if we knew ourselves, and knew that we would just dive head-first into OMG ORDER ALL THE FOODS FROM THE WORST PLACES EVER then we should probably just stick to what we know: limited dairy, no bread, no sugar.

So I took that to heart. Because I am not perfect. And I am not that strong yet (though I feel like the last week has proven that I am stronger than I think). And I know what my weaknesses are, and I knew I would be seeing them this week. I LOVE PIZZA. It’s like… my ride or die food. What I love about pizza? It’s so diverse. You can put ANYTHING on it. And what I’ve learned this week? You can make crust out of anything. Even cauliflower, which is what I did. Now I know what you’re thinking, “Meghann, just stay away from said pizza.” Yeah, no. Not an option this week, and I will tell you why.

Daryl’s Gma just turned 87 years old. That woman is amazing, and I love her a lot. She’s been one of the few who, no matter what Daryl and I have gone through, has always treated us like family. And every year for the last five years, we have brought her a homemade Canadian bacon and pineapple pizza. Because it’s her favorite. And every year, she looks forward to it. So this year, without fail, I was going to make her that pizza. Because I appreciate her, and I want her to know that. So I did, but I had to eat something, too….

So I found THIS AMAZING RECIPE for cauliflower crust. The only problem? I didn’t have that much goat cheese in my house. So I used mozzarella and it came out awesome, but probably woulda been better with goat cheese. I topped it with normal pizza sauce (though a garlic version would be amazing, too), Canadian bacon, more cheese (yeah, I am regretting it today, guys), red bell pepper, onion, and a little bit of the goat cheese I did have. I probably could have skipped the extra cheese cuz my tummy feels weird today, but OMG you guys… it was so good. And really, really easy to make. I HIGHLY recommend it for anyone who, like me, loves pizza but either a) is a celiac, or b) is choosing to go grain free. So delicious.

Then, this morning, I had a crazy craving. One that I haven’t really had for a while, because I’m addicted to non-flavored almond milk lattes. But I really wanted a pumpkin spice latte…. just not a really sweet one. I just wanted the pumpkin flavor, and the spice. I mean, I am a white girl, and am pretty basic, so it’s like… required this time of year (next thing you know I’ll be breaking out the Uggs… oh yes, I have a knock off pair). So, I went hunting. And because the internet loves me, and people are coming up with all kinds of stuff to substitute for the things they either can’t have or choose not to have anymore… I FOUND IT. I found A “Healthy Pumpkin Spice Latte” recipe that I decided I needed to try to kick the craving. I say “healthy” because, well, sugar. Yes a few drops, but still, sugar. So I left it out. 😉 It was spicy, and pumpkin-y (totes a word), and made me feel like I should be wearing flannel, and leggings and the Uggs. So, mission accomplished. If you don’t have an espresso machine, use a blender to froth up your milk. Deeeeeeelicious.

Last week, I had a sweet tooth craving at night for some reason… I think I ate something really tasty for dinner, and thought to myself, “self, this needs a little something to top it off.” I didn’t wanna go with a protein shake because I was already full, I just needed a little spoonful of something. I’ve been looking up stuff around the Internets and trying different recipes because I want them for “just in case” people come over and they’re looking for something different. Like homemade mayo (I don’t eat mayo, but someone might). And I came across Chia seed pudding. Now, I got really lucky and scored some free chia seeds that I’ve been sneaking in my protein shakes once in a while, and I had heard that Chia seed pudding is a lot like tapioca. So I took to Twitter and the rumors were true. So… I had made this pumpkin spice Chia Seed Pudding (I’m seeing a theme here) and halved the agave. It was in my fridge, so that night, I got some out and had a little bit. Oooooh man, it was yummy. I probably could have eaten the whole thing, but since all I wanted was a taste, that’s all I had. It was very close to tapioca texture (so if you’re not into that, just don’t even try this), and was pumpkin-y and spicy, and everything I wanted in that bite. I just made some more this morning for “just in case” this week. And you know what? I’m okay with a little taste of it every once in a while. Gotta treat yoself, peeps.

Lifestyle changes are not easy. And you’re gonna have a shitty day. And you’re gonna want something to help you through… I have been lucky enough these last six weeks to have people behind me to help me make the “right” decisions (for me) and help me sweat it all out. This week? I still have those people, but I won’t be with them every single day. So, I have found ways to cope. And foods that feel like comfort food, but are better for me, and are foods that will not be in my weekly rotation. Because it’s all about balance… life, I mean. You take the good with the bad, the healthy with the not so much, the easy with the hard… and you roll with it. You fall, you pick yourself back up. You struggle, you ask for help. You lose people, you gain new people. It’s all about balance.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

