My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

What I Ate Wednesday… (Maybe I Should Change That)…

Leave a comment

There’s something really nice about having your “office” located in your bedroom. Let’s be real…. I like being able to hang out in my nice, clean, organized bedroom while I edit pictures (yes, I still do that, call me if you need some), or write blog posts about food (no, I don’t get paid for that shit, someday maybe), or work on my cookbook (yeah, that’s still a thing too, but it’s getting revamped. I had to start all over.). Away from the chaos that my kids impart on my house. It’s super stressful for someone with OCD to have kids that don’t. Because OMG SHIT ALL OVER THE PLACE. I feel like all I do lately is clean up after people.

So yesterday, when I was SUPPOSED to be writing this blog post… I was napping. Because the weather is changing, and it makes me wanna bake and nap. So, instead of sabotaging my weeks of work by making brownies… I took a nap. And felt better. So…. that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 🙂

Now, let’s talk food. At first, the whole food situation was really stressing me out. I didn’t wanna have to worry about what I was eating, or whether or not I recorded it, or how much I was eating because for someone with said OCD, that could very easily turn into something negative. I’m happy to say that after three and a half weeks of good eating (alright, I slipped up that first week when my friend was here)… I’m no longer worried about that. Eating this way has kinda become a habit for me, and I feel really good about the choices that I’m making in my diet. As a matter of fact, Daryl wanted Taco Bell last weekend, and I sent him there without a request of bringing me anything back. I had a lettuce wrapped veggie burger, and some sweet potato fries. #winning

I have had some pretty amazing stuff this week. Remember that Pad Thai recipe that my trainer gave me? Yeah, tried that…. fucking AMAZING (don’t worry, I will post it in a few minutes). Some stuff has been a repeat from last week (sweet potato basil soup anyone) but with a few additives. I’m excited to say, delciousness is about to be shared.

Remember how I told you last week that I didn’t remember what night I had what? Welllll, that’s a lie. I do remember because I write that shit down in two different places: the white board in my kitchen for all to see, and my daily planner. Sometimes I do switch things around, because I don’t feel like putting in a ton of effort, or because I gotta use some sort of veggie before it goes bad. But, for the most part, I make a menu and stick to it (down to what day I eat what).

So Friday night: I had said lettuce wrapped veggie burger with sweet potato fries. I always choose Alexia sweet potato waffle cut fries if I don’t make them myself. And OMG they’re so delicious. Butter lettuce wrapped around a veggie burger with mustard and a slice of tomato. It was well worth not being Taco Bell. 🙂

Saturday night: We had the Pad Thai (recipe at the end of this post) with shrimp. Daryl didn’t like this one at all, and my friend Lisa won’t like it either because it has cilantro in it. But… that shouldn’t stop you from trying it. It’s delicious. And tastes like it’s SO bad for you. It’s rich, so you don’t need a lot (I ate off of it for three days), and just all around amazing. I’m definitely keeping it in the rotation for sure.

Sunday night: Oh. My. God. We had THESE AMAZE BALLS TACOS. Yes, tacos. I made the paleo tortillas, the lime slaw, the avocado sauce and OMG the fish. I have to say these were probably one of my favorite meals so far. The tortillas are well worth the time it takes to make them, and although you shouldn’t have them all the time if you’re trying to lose weight (or Paleo)…. they’re perfect. Soft, bendy, and just all around tasty. And the fish… omg the fish. Next time I will be using cod or halibut because I am not really a fan of tilapia. But the spices on this fish are down right, amazing. And the avocado sauce I’ve been using for DAYS on things like eggs, veggie burgers, etc. SO GOOD. Definitely try this one.

Monday night: Monday I made this Chicken and Sweet Potato Bake. I used cabernet grape tomatoes (OMG SO GOOD), yellow cherry tomatoes, and some cherry tomatoes from my own garden for this recipe. It was garlicky, and juicy, and really simple but delicious. If you’re in the mood for something really quick, but feels like it took a while to make? This is your dish. And only like… 6 ingredients. Can’t get any simpler than that.

Tuesday night: Tuesday night is always leftover night in our house. So while everyone else had grilled cheese, I had a fish taco and some fruit. It was light, and satisfying… which was good because my workout that night was BRUTAL.

Last night: Last night we had Paleomg’s trusty Crock Pot Sweet Potato Soup but with an added twist. I spent Saturday afternoon making two kinds of meatballs, cooking them, and then freezing them so that I would have them on hand this week for meals. Let me tell you, SO WORTH IT. These Italian meatballs cooked up nicely, froze really well, and reheated in a pan with a little olive oil really nicely. They were the perfect addition to this soup (which I already LOVE SO MUCH). You know, this soup could probably be made the same way with butternut squash if you’re not into sweet potatoes. Just sayin.

And that brings us to this evening. I am making some zucchini noodles, and topping them with another recipe from my trainer (which I will share next week), Zucchini meatballs and a curry type sauce. I’m pretty stoked about this recipe, too.

We also have a really yummy recipe for carne asada coming up next week (with an avocado sauce), spiced ginger chicken (uh, yes please), and baked honey mustard chicken for those interested in coming back and checking it out. I must say… so far so good!!!

And without further ado, here is that Pad Thai (or as she called it Thai Almond Butter Spaghetti Squash):

Ingredients:

1 medium spaghetti squash

olive oil

salt

1 garlic clove

1/4 c chopped parsley or cilantro (I recommend the cilantro)

2 Tbsp crushed almonds

for the sauce:

1 can (14 oz) coconut milk

3/4 c natural almond butter (the plainer, the better)

agave, to taste (you can even leave this out, doesn’t need it)

1/4 c water

2 Tbsp soy sauce (I used Braggs liquid aminos)

2 tsp sesame oil

2 tsp red curry paste

2 Tbsp white or apple cider vinegar

Use whatever protein you’d like…. I use shrimp (so good).

Preheat over to 350.

Half squash, scoop out seeds, drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Place cut side down on cookie sheet and back for 35 minutes. Use a fork to scrape out the middle (from the outside edge in toward the middle). Will come out like spaghetti noodles.

Sauce: place all sauce ingredients in medium sauce pan over medium high heat, bring to a boil. Turn heat to medium low and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Take off heat, and let sauce cool a little.

Heat skillet over medium high heat, and a few tbsp olive oil. Cook protein until cooked through, Add minced garlic, chopped parsley (or cilantro), “noodles” and sauce. Garnish with crushed almonds and parsley (or cilantro).

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

