My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

What I Ate Wednesday…. A Day Late

Leave a comment

Whew… Well, there is A LOT going on in the world the Interwebs today… and I’m glad to set it aside for a few minutes to talk about my favorite, non controversial issue…. FOOD.

Yes, that’s right, I’m back with my What I Ate Wednes… wait…. Uh… Thursday?…. series. Sorry it’s a day late, I got myself involved in an organizational project that my OCD wouldn’t let me leave. It won’t happen again. I promise.

So let’s see…. where did we leave off?

Oh, that’s right, I was gonna try the Pad Thai recipe my trainer gave me. Yeah, haven’t done that yet. Mostly because I needed red curry paste, and I didn’t want the temptation of going to the store this week, and I sure as hell couldn’t send Daryl because well, I’m not even sure he knows what red curry paste is….

So. I will tell you what I DID eat this week, and what I thought about it…. so here we go:

I don’t remember what night I ate what… so don’t ask, but I do know that I made THESE amazing chicken wraps this week. OMG, so easy. And SUPER flavorful. I marinaded the chicken for a few hours because, well, that’s how I do things around here…. too much or nothing at all, and it was WORTH it. Also, instead of baking the chicken, I grilled it on my grill thingy that goes over my stove (omg why can’t I think of the name of it). Also super delicious. I didn’t make the pineapple guac, but OMG it sounds amazeballs. So if you make that, let me know. They made good lunches, too.

This super easy dinner was one of those that I thought wouldn’t be a huge hit around our house. Just because of the texture. Sometimes Daryl has issues with the texture of things (apparently that’s his issue with seafood, what???), so I wasn’t sure how this was gonna go down. Lemme back it up by saying that until last week, every time we have had some sort of casserole in the house, we end up throwing out some of it. Not this one. Holy crap was it AMAZING. Spicy, and flavorful, and just all around delicious. The only thing I changed about this was the amount of green chiles I put in. I didn’t use 12 oz. I used 4. And it was spicy. So… just beware. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. If you’re not dairy free (I cannot wait to add a little dairy back in) try it with some sour cream on top. I heard that was good, too.

Sunday dinner was this. I remember because I was sick as a fucking DOG and Daryl had to cook. And he did it, and he KICKED ASS at it. I couldn’t really taste it until Monday but OMG WAS IT SO FREAKING GOOD. Tender, and spicy, and took most of the day to make but was worth it because the crock pot did most of the work. He ate his in tortillas, and just had mine on top of a sweet potato. And then again the next morning with eggs on top (HOLY FUCKING AMAZING DELICIOUS). This is definitely one you wanna make on a Sunday when you’re watching football all day, and then just chow down on it after that win. Really worth the wait. Also, makes your house smell delicious. So win, win!

Saturday was an emergency get together with a friend due to boy trouble (which, by the way, boys are goofy sometimes). So COMFORT FOOD was in order. That’s right… freaking Paleo comfort food. Comfort food in the way of chinese food. Uh huh… I went there. My husband came out and said to me… “Honey, this is THE BEST dinner you have ever made.” And that? That means it really is amazing because I’ve made a LOT of really good shit in my lifetime. But this? This was beyond words. You HAVE to make this at least once this month for you and your family. It’s totally not something you want to make all the time because it is a little bit high in calories, but OMG. So good… I’ll tell you about the side dish I made in a few minutes…. I served this over spaghetti squash, and it was so good. Remind me to tell you about the broccoli…

A few days ago, I posted a picture (and the link to the recipe on a friend’s Facebook page) for this crockpot chili, and let me tell you. No beans? I didn’t miss them. This chili was hearty, and flavorful, and all around satisfying. It can stand alone, or be put on top of a sweet potato for a little different flavor. Daryl added a bit of sour cream and corn tortilla chips to his, and said it was awesome. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe for those cold winter days when you just want a bowl of warm to come home to. It’s really delicious, and has lots of good stuff in it.

And last night I made this…. sorta. I tweaked this recipe a lot because I have a favorite sloppy joe recipe that I always use. I didn’t use the chili powder or cumin, and replaced that with 1 Tbsp vinegar, and 1 Tbsp liquid aminos (or Braggs), and I omitted the diced tomatoes and added a little bit of mustard. It was delicious, and just like I love my sloppy joes. It’s definitely kid approved, so try it out with your kiddos. 🙂

Now, lemme just take a minute to tell you about the broccoli that I made a few times this week…. it’s so easy, and really, really delicious. And I’ve been threatened to include that recipe here:

Asian Roasted Broccoli

1 – 2 heads broccoli, trimmed and cut into bite size pieces

2 Tbsp liquid aminos (Braggs)

1 tsp sesame oil

1 tsp freshly grated ginger

Mix together aminos, oil and ginger. Place broccoli in bowl and pour mixture over broccoli. Toss to coat. Lay flat on cookie sheet and roast in 375 degree oven for about 15 minutes or until soft.

It’s salty, it’s savory, it’s sesame-y (yeah, that’s a word)… and it’s freaking delicious. Make a bunch a head of time and use it as a side dish, or in stir fry. OMG YUM.

That’s it for this week folks. I’m making chicken soup right now, and getting ready to plan some more meals for the next two weeks!!! I’m feelin great, and am looking forward to this next week of classes! See you soon!!!

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

