My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

What I’m Eating Wednesday

Leave a comment

Well, hello there. I haven’t had a TON of time to sit at my computer these days…. this class is SERIOUSLY kicking my ass. I have to keep track of what I’m eating and eat well before class each night, so our schedule around here has changed TREMENDOUSLY as well as what I’m doing during the day. Gone are the days of sitting around all day and playing video games (though I think I might be doing that this weekend for a little while).

My day looks a little something like this:

6:30 am wake up

7:00 am breakfast and get kiddo up (if he isn’t up already)

7:15-8:15 am get Oliver ready for school, pack his lunch, make sure he’s not wearing pajamas to school, feed Archer, make sure he’s not writing all over brother’s homework, take a shower (maybe), drink some coffee (maybe), start a load of laundry

8:15 am take the kid to the bus. Sometimes this can be longer because the bus is never at the same time.

8:30 – 10:00 am depends on the day. Some days we have speech during this time, some days we snuggle and watch cartoons, some days I’m running around like a chicken with my head cut off.

10:00 am snack time. Must eat something.

11:00 am nap time. HUGE production lately. Some days he will, some days he won’t.

12:00 pm EAT LUNCH. Today? Production. Tomorrow will be easier. I try to prepare my stuff ahead of time.

12:30 – 3:00 pm also depends on the day.

3:00 pm EAT A SNACK. MUST eat something.

3:30 get kid from bus

3:30 – 4:45 go out of my mind trying to balance the “Mom I’m hungry,” and “Can I play video games,” and making dinner, and keeping the toddler busy so I can MAKE said dinner, etc, etc, etc.

5:00 pm EAT DINNER. I have to. Can’t eat later than this or I will throw it up during class.

5:30 – 7:00 try and enjoy my family for the night. Because when I get home, the kids are in bed.

7:15 – 8:00 get my ass HANDED to me 4 nights a week (and early Saturday morning). HANDED TO ME. No joke.

8:30 PROTEIN SHAKE TIME

And then I pass out. As you can see, doesn’t leave a whole lot of time for video games. Or book reading. Or blogging (though right now I’m shoving food in my mouth as I write this and thinking about the PILES of laundry that need to be put away). And I know some mom’s are busier than I am with clubs, and sports (though we will be there in the winter with basketball), etc, etc, etc. Some people have zero time to clean their houses…. that would drive me crazy. It’s important to me.

That’s why it’s extra important that I sit down once a week and plan out the meals that we are going to be eating. I’ve done it for a LONG time, but with the strictness of this class, I’ve had to be even BETTER about it. I’ve done pretty well this last week, just a few hiccups which are to be expected with friends here from out of town. I’ve posted a lot of pictures of the stuff I’ve been eating and people have been asking me for the recipes right and left. So…. I thought I would do a “What I Ate” every Wednesday, let you guys know what recipes I’ve tried and what I think. (See, you KNEW there was a point to all this shit). So… here we go.

This last week was a little tricky, I had a friend from out of town here and we were sight seeing. So I didn’t have a TON of time to throw together the stuff I wanted to throw together. But we did get a chance to try out a few things:

I am in LOVE with this jambalaya recipe from PaleOMG. It is WAY better than I expected it to be, and I even fed it to the jambalaya master (our dear friend Ryan) and HE liked it. So, there you go. It’s really easy to make, and the cauliflower rice holds up pretty well. We had sausage and shrimp, and I used the same seasoning I used for my old jambalaya recipe (Tony Chachere’s Oringal Creole Seasoning… there’s no MSG, and no sugar) instead of the spices she used. But OMG so good. I LOVE jambalaya and am beyond thrilled that I can eat it now. Delicious.

We had Sweet Potato Basil Soup last night in the crockpot. And it was really savory. I liked it a lot. I added some andouille sausage and a little bit of ground sirloin to mine and it was really, really good. You could add chicken, sausage, steak… whatever you want! Super easy, too. Just put it in the crockpot and let it go for 6 hours on low. It was the perfect fall soup. Nice and hearty.

And this Chicken “Enchilada” Bake has probably been my husband’s favorite so far. It was really, really easy to make… and didn’t take a lot of prep time. The cooking time was over an hour, but was well worth the wait. If you decide to try it, I HIGHLY recommend some homemade pico, or some salsa with it. And probably some sour cream, though I can’t tell you if it adds anything cuz I can’t eat it! 🙂

Tonight I think we are going to try a recipe for Pad Thai that my trainer gave me… if it’s amazeballs (as I suspect it will be), I will post  the recipe tomorrow.

Guys, it’s really not THAT hard to eat better. For breakfast I usually have just two eggs and turkey bacon (or chicken sausage) and some fresh fruit. For snacks I have apples and almond butter (just a tablespoon), or some almonds, fruit, and meat. Or a protein shake…. oh that reminds me!

My trainer gave me the BEST protein shake recipe:

1 c almond milk

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 Tbsp almond butter

1 Tbsp cocoa powder

7-8 ice cubes

Blend it up. OMG it’s chocolate ice cream. No freaking joke. So good.

I took my friend Kelly’s advice and I alter it for my morning snack sometimes:

1 c coffee

1/2 c almond milk

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 Tbsp cocoa powder

7-8 ice cubes

Holy freaking cow I’m in heaven then. Seriously.

I know I’ve shot these recipes off to some of you guys… what do YOU think? How have YOU modified them? Which one is your favorite???

I’m gonna keep doing this on Wednesday’s guys, but will probably post more food stuffs during the week. It’s a hot topic around here. 😉

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

