My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

A Tisket, A Tasket, Brisket in a Basket?

Leave a comment

If you know me at all, or have had a conversation with me about food, you know I’m the most “unAmerican person on the face of the planet.” It’s true… I don’t like BBQ sauce (or hot dogs). I know, right?

Now, before you go all “OMG KICK HER OUT OF THE COUNTRY” on me, let’s have a little chat. There is a difference between BBQ sauce and BBQ. There is also a difference between “don’t like” and “won’t eat.” I will eat it. I actually dig mustard based BBQ sauces, and will eat a good pulled pork sammich once in a while. But I am not one of those “sauce it up until it’s dripping then lick it off every part of my body (including my shirt)” kind of people. I just don’t like the combo of ketchup, molasses, and liquid smoke.

That is not to say that I don’t enjoy a nice dry rub. Which sounds a whole hell of a lot dirtier than I mean it to sound. ON MY MEAT PEOPLE (again… I’m 12 in the brain). I will eat the SHIT out of some ribs with a spice rub on them, or a brisket…. which brings me to the point of this post (now that I have your full attention).

I also don’t like tacos. OMG WHAT?!?! No, it’s just a thing. I ate them a lot as a kid, and I just have a thing about tacos. But D LOVES them. Like, “OMGLETSHAVETACOSEVERYSINGLENIGHT” loves them. So, because I are a good wife, I compromise with this recipe I’m about to share. It’s brisket (see how I did that) that you serve in warm tortillas. But because I don’t like BBQ sauce (I’m not THAT good of a wife, jeeez), this is a great compromise for both of us. It’s delicious, doesn’t taste anything like BBQ sauce, and it still tacos.

I’ve confused you, haven’t I? Good. Welcome to my brain BEFORE I think up blog posts.

Enjoy it. I love it.

Abilene Brisket

(From the Cowboy Up In the Kitchen Cookbook)

What you need:

2-3 lb beef brisket

1 8 oz can green chiles (chopped)

1 onion (chopped)

1 15 oz can diced tomatoes

2 carrots (sliced)

salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp garlic powder

warm tortillas

Brown the brisket in hot oil. Place in a roaster pan and cover with chilies, onion, tomatoes, and carrots. Cover and bake at 275 degrees (this is what I do) for 8 hours, or 325 degrees for 4 hours. Add salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. Serve with warm tortillas

Super easy. Super yummy. And not BBQ at all. WIN!

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

