My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Taking Out The Trash

Leave a comment

My ride or die, Courtney has created a monster, y’all.

Well, to be fair, I was kinda taking out the trash before she said she was gonna. But it’s fun to blame things on other people.

So here’s the deal: I have spent the last week (or at least the last few days) getting organized and throwing shit (and people) out. It started with a whole lot of this, and ended up spilling over into my house. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Nay, it’s an amazing thing.

I went back to meal planning. I went back to writing grocery lists. I went back to daily to-do lists. And honestly? I feel pretty okay. A) It keeps me distracted so I don’t spend all day sitting on my ass playing video games (though there are days when I do that because well… I like to) and B) it just feels good to get rid of all the clutter around the house. I get REALLY anxious (? I don’t even know if that’s the right word… it pretty much just feels like rage) when there’s just STUFF all over the place. And having two children, there is gonna be STUFF ALL OVER AND OMGICANNOTTAKEITSOMEONESHOOTME. *Ahem*

So, I found some ways to keep the clutter to a minimum. And most days it just works really well for us. In light of how many people I see online going through and re-vamping their lives right about now (weird, is it the weather? school being back in? who the hell knows), I thought I would share some of my rules that I keep in the back of my mind when I’m taking out the trash (both things and people related):

  1. If I haven’t used/talked/played with you in the last six months… you’re out. Nope, no “But I might use it in the near future.” NO. If you haven’t used it, you’re not gonna “need” it in the future. NO. Just throw it out.
  2. If you’re bad for me/make me feel icky about myself/don’t fit me anymore… you’re out. NO. There’s no “but I might fit into those jeans again after I do this class that I’m gonna do.” NO. There’s nothing MORE rewarding than losing the weight and THEN buying NEW clothes. Cuz those jeans in my closet might end up being too big anyway, and then I just gotta get new ones. Same goes with people. If they make you look fat, they gotsta go.
  3. If you don’t have more than one purpose… you gotta go. Think about why you bought that weird tool. Do you still even have the bed it’s supposed to help you take apart? Do you have six of them? GET RID OF THEM. Just do it. NO. Don’t argue with me. Do it. As a matter of fact… anyone need a bread machine? 🙂
  4. If you can’t remember why you bought/borrowed/picked up/became friends with… you gotta go. Sometimes people be like “here, do you want this?” And I’m like “OMG YES I can use that for such and such.” Then I shove it in the closet in the hall and I go to get a coat and said thing falls out and I’m like…. “Da fuq? What are you and where did you come from?” Yeah, toss it. NO. Just do it.

And that’s pretty much it. If I find myself questioning whether or not I will use it in the future (like the gluten free flour I have in my cupboard), I toss it. Because if I need it THAT badly (which I don’t, cuz HAIL GLUTEN), I can pick some up when I need it.

Damn, it really does feel good to take out the trash…. Unless you’re D. Then you’re complaining about how much ACTUAL trash you have to walk down to the dumpster. 😉

Happy tossing!!!!

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

