My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Per Y’all’s Request: Pesto Chicken Flatbread

Leave a comment

Well, hi there!

Now that I am back from vacation, I’ve been a VERY busy bee. Organizing, cleaning, changing up our routine and rules…. but most of all, I’ve been getting back to cooking. Which has been fun, and amazing, and most importantly, tasty. Cooking and creating in the kitchen is part of who I am, and now that I’m feeling like myself again, it’s been fun getting back to it, and making delicious things for my family to eat.

Part of our new routine is letting Oliver choose what we are going to eat one night a week, and having him help me make it. We’re hoping this will expose him to new foods to try, and by helping make stuff, he will learn all kinds of skills: math, science, problem solving, and most importantly…. how to be creative in the kitchen. Last night, he chose pizza. And so we set out to make our own pizza from scratch.

Now those of you who know me (and have been to my house) know that I make awesome pizza. But D and I like different things on our pizza than the kids do (well, at least than Oliver does… Archer will eat anything), so I wanted to make flatbread style pizzas for each of us so we can pick and choose what we want on it. I found this delicious flatbread recipe a while ago… and so I got out the Kitchen Aide and made it.

Flatbread

What you’ll need:

A mixer of some sort (a food processor will work as well)

A griddle (we use one that goes over our burners on our stove… I suppose a BBQ would work too)

1 package active dry yeast

1/2 tsp sugar

1 3/4 c all purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1 Tbsp thyme (or a mixture of Italian seasoning)

3/4  water (you may need a little extra)

1 tsp oil

What you do:

Combine yeast, sugar, flour, salt, oil, and thyme in food processor. Add water in stead stream until dough begins to form a ball. Turn on floured board and knead until smooth and elastic. Place in bowl, cover with towel, and let rise in a warm place for 1 hour or until doubled in size. Punch down and knead into a smooth ball. Cut into pieces and roll out 5-6″ circles.

Preheat griddle over medium high heat. DO NOT OIL. Place discs on griddle and cook without touching it until it bubbles. Turn and cook 1-2 more minutes or until puffy.

They will flatten out as they cool, and since I stick mine back in the oven on broil after topped, I tend to not cook them all the way through (although sometimes it’s hard to do that because they’re so thin).

The topping possibilities on these are ENDLESS. The kiddos had normal pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese and pepperoni. We, on the other hand, had this delicious pesto, some chicken (cooked and cubed), red onion, mozzarella cheese, and goat cheese. It was amazing. I will just leave the pesto recipe here for you all, you can try it yourself.

Pesto

What you’ll need:

Food processor

4 cups basil (freshly picked is always the best), packed

1 cup parmesan cheese (I use shredded, grated will give it a bit smoother texture)

1 cup extra virgin olive oil

2/3 cup pine nuts (you can use walnuts here too, if you’d like)

5 garlic cloves

Salt and pepper to taste

What you do:

Combine basil, cheese, and pine nuts in food processor and pulse a few times (just to kinda pack it down a little bit). Add garlic and pulse a few more times. Turn processor on low, and while it is running, add the olive oil in a small, steady stream. This will help the pesto emulsify and it will help the keep the oil from separating. Stop occasionally to scrape the sides of the food processor. Stir in a little bit of salt and pepper by hand. Store in a container in your fridge, or freeze it for later use.

I use it as a sauce on pizza, or toss it with pasta and chicken. OMG so yummy.

11825932_874309645988131_7589557295325996377_n

There you guys have it. As requested. Enjoy it!!!!! Let me know in the comments what you would top YOUR flatbread with. And what other stuff do you guys want me to make/share with you!!!

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

