My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

The Internet Is Weird

Leave a comment

no. This isn’t one of THOSE posts. I’m not gonna link some weird ass videos or pictures or anything. Just hang with me, here.
I have, hands down, the BEST friends a girl could ever ask for. I call us a gaggle (they don’t know that yet, now they do), and I fucking love them with all my soul. They know who they are. I see them when we can all get together, yanno; kids, larger kids (aka our other halves), work, travel, sports, holidays all get in the way sometimes. The older we’ve gotten, the less I see them in person. But, we have a Facebook Messenger thread that we seriously write on every single day. These girls are my family away from family, and I simply could not live my life without them.
Then there are my other friends. EQUALLY important in my life, but in a different way. Most of them I have not met in person, as a matter of fact, I don’t think I have met ANY of them in person, that’s a lie. I’ve met one. But I have sent Christmas cards, and family photos, and even texted a few while sitting in my living room about the things I love/hate about my life. I’ve watched their children grow, their pets grow, I’ve seen marriages and divorces. I have gotten excited about pregnancy announcements, and have even talked for hours upon hours about nothing and everything over my computer. They are my internet friends, and they are awesome.
Some I have met through blog challenges (that was like…. 8 years ago), some I have met through Instagram, some I have met through gaming, and some through friends of friends in these various places. They’ve read these posts, and seen my pictures, and commented on all of it. We’ve chatted through messengers, and tweets, and photos, and guild chats. We’ve played games against and with each other, shared life stories, and jokes. We’ve shared some hard times and supported each other through them. All without even coming face to face. 

And I know what some of you are thinking: how weird, how unsafe, how crazy do you have to be?
Behind every keyboard is a person with a story. A person who, like you, is sharing a piece of themselves on the Internet. No, it’s not the WHOLE picture. And no, it’s not all of who they are. But it is something. And it’s real. And there are those who are reading this now that have been a part of my support system. And to them I say:
Thank you, you fucking weirdos. Thanks for letting me rant on about MY life while you may be going through something a lot worse. Thanks for taking the time to read, and comment, and lurk. Thanks for sharing some of your own shit with me so I don’t feel so completely alone. Thanks for the “that’s what she said”‘s and the “who does that?”‘s. Thanks for the funny memes, the late night laughter, the YouTube links, the Instagram likes, and the random tags. Thanks for the raids, and the dungeons. Thanks for the place I can go and just be real, leave everything behind for a little while, and have a good time. Thanks for being weird. Thanks for giving me a glimpse into your life. And for some of you….
Thanks for sticking around for years and years.
The Internet is a weird place where you can meet people, and call them your friends. 
Love you guys.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

