My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

WTF Calendar???

1 Comment

I can always tell when I’m REALLY starting to feel better after the winter. I mean, I SAY I’m feeling better about late February, and that’s not ALWAYS a lie. It’s never a lie, really. I DO start to feel better. But not…. normal.

Anyone who suffers from anxiety/depression disorders understands what I mean. There are ups and downs. And when the weather changes, it effects us. The skies are clouded over, the temperature drops, the days are shorter, there’s no fresh air circulating around the house. You’re stuck indoors (unless you actually enjoy the snow, but *I* do not), and all you want to do is curl up and sleep. For the whole winter. Even in Washington where it doesn’t snow more than a week out of the whole winter. But man, do we have grey skies.

So when the weather starts to clear up, and it gets a little warmer, I start to come out of my shell a little bit. My house starts to get back in order, my mood lifts, I feel like getting off my ass and DOING stuff. I find myself trying to eat better and get outside more. My wanderlust sets in, and I feel like going to visit family in different states, and dream about the day I can take my kids to LegoLand (OMG, can you even imagine?). I feel like socializing with people more, and I reach out and dust off friendships (old and new) in order to rally together during the summer months. I dust off my camera, and get out and get creative. It almost feels like I’m a completely different person.

So why does the new year start in the middle of the god damn winter, huh? I mean, I FEEL like, come April, it’s a totally different year. I set goals, and have the where with all to follow through with them. In January? I feel like a sloth. No motivation to make fitness goals, or personal growth goals, or even daily routine goals. So….

I’m starting my own year. This year. I’ve already set some goals for myself this month, and have been doing a lot of work to try and accomplish them. So far? I’ve been doing pretty well. I feel like if I spend the spring and summer doing the things that I need to do, come fall and winter? They’ll be habit. Right? That’s the idea. And in the spirit of keeping myself accountable, and motivated…

I’m sharing my “Word of the Year.” This was an idea brought to me a few years ago by my friend Carly. You pick a word for the year and apply it to your life. That way, you’re not limited to a list of specific goals. The word can apply to fitness goals, eating habits, personal growth, creative energy… whatever you NEED it to apply to. The goal is to keep that word in mind doing WHATEVER it is that you need to do. It can apply to whatever changes you need to make. Cool, right?

Follow through.

I know that it’s two words, and you all know I’m all about breaking rules. I don’t care. 😉

I need to follow through. I have all these grand plans of all these changes I want to make (for both me and my family), and all these goals that I have set (both now and in the future). And I am the best planner you will ever meet. I can plan, and plan, and plan, and then when it comes to actually doing….I’m all gung ho and shit…. and then? Well, sometimes I give up. Usually when things aren’t going the way I planned. Or the way I pictured. Or the way I want them to. Sometimes I make plans with people, and then bail because the kids are needy, or I’m fucking exhausted, or I just don’t FEEL like it.

Nope. Done with all that. I’m taking this year (from April to April, because again, RULES) and I’m going to Follow Through.

Who’s with me? 🙂

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

One thought on “WTF Calendar???

  1. I am just like you Meghann! I hibernate all winter fighting to get anything done. But come spring and sunshine I am all about getting out there and conquering the world!

Leave a Reply

