My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

I Got 99 Problems and My Body Is One…

Leave a comment

There’s this weird thing going on in my life right now.

Ever since my nephew graduated high school, I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that he is NOT 8 years old anymore. Like, he’s an actual adult now. Not in school, working an ACTUAL adult job, trying to figure out what the rest of his life is going to be like. Which means his brother, who in my head is still 6, is getting ready to drive in like…. a month. It’s a total mind fuck for me.

What has happened since then has been even worse. I’ve had to come to terms with the fact that my grandparents are no longer in their 50s, my parents are no longer in their 30s, and my children are no longer little babies. Which means I am no longer “young.”

Okay, before y’all FREAK out on me, trust me, I realize I am far from old. I’m turning 34 in about a month, and I am having a hard time believing that I’m in my mid thirties already. It’s so WEIRD, because not only is everyone else around me so much younger in my head… So am I.

But my body? My body most certainly is NOT. And that’s a problem. Because if I want to be around as long as all these other people in my life are… I REALLY need to start taking care of myself. And my husband. Which means some MAJOR changes in our house.

Here’s the problem: I don’t know where to start, or how to stick to it. I have all these really great ideas in my head, and for some reason, I don’t know how to execute.

Example: I know we consume entirely too much sugar in this house. We are ADDICTED. Soda, ice cream, brownies, cookies, cupcakes, cake, PIE. Even the “hidden” sugar is getting ridiculous. I know all the things that we need to stop consuming, and yet… I keep buying it. And I can sit here and justify every single purchase made, or product kept in our house. But the fact of the matter is? We consume too much sugar. And I don’t want it to get to the point of a health scare before we cut it out.

Also? I LOVE to run, but do you think I have been out there in the last three weeks? Nope. Why? Oh, too busy, too hot, too tired, BLAH, BLAH, BLAH. just excuse after damn excuse… And I’m not the only one making excuses.

I don’t know where to find the motivation. I mean, it’s there. I KNOW what I’m supposed to do. I KNOW why I’m supposed to do it. So what is my PROBLEM?!?!?!

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

