My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Cookbook Update

Leave a comment

A few months ago, I made this announcement. And it’s been……

A process.

I have so many ideas, and recipes, and stories to go with those recipes that I find myself working for a few days straight, and then taking a few weeks off. Because let’s face it, some days I don’t WANT to cook, and other days I don’t have TIME to cook. Or bake. Or even eat. And with my newest hobby turning into a possible future business venture, I have found even less time these days.

I took a few weeks off, and yesterday, I sent D to O’s last tball game, put A down for a semi-late afternoon nap and went back to work.

And I remembered why I wanted to do this. The smells, the textures, the sounds… I love the smell of garlic sautéing. I love the sound of meat sizzling as it hits hot cast iron. This is my happy place. I can pour my emotions into my creations. It grounds me.

Did you guys ever see that movie with Sarah Michelle Gellar and Sean Patrick Flanery? Simply Irresistible? She’s a really crappy cook trying to keep her family restaurant going, he’s a big wig department store dude, she accidentally finds a magic crab that makes her this amazing chef whose emotions are LITERALLY in every dish? They fall in love? Sound familiar?

Well, I feel like that sometimes. And for the record? I love that movie.

I see some magic kitchen time brewing this weekend.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

