My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Olive Garden in Your Kitchen

Leave a comment

I don’t know about y’all, but there are certain things that I HAVE to get at certain places. For instance, when I go to Red Robin I cannot leave without getting a piece of their mud pie. Applebee’s? Oriental Chicken Salad and boneless buffalo wings (hot please). Our local ice cream shop (shout out to Edaleen’s) has THE BEST Fudgy Wudgy ice cream, my mouth is watering just thinking about it.

D and I used to eat out almost every night (pre-kids), and it got to the point where we didn’t even have to look at menus. We always ordered the same thing. We try not to eat out as much anymore, but sometimes we just want something easy, and something familiar. So, on a family trip to the Olive Garden a while back, it came as no surprise to either of us when we ordered our “usuals,” including their very yummy Zuppa Toscana soup.

If you’ve never had it, Zuppa Toscana is a sausage, kale, and potato cream-ish soup with a little kick. I say “cream-ish” because it’s not thick enough to be completely cream based, but there is totally cream in there. It’s delicious, and perfect for a cooler Spring night (or day). So, we ate it, remembered how much we loved it, and I swore I would copy it at home.

Google is my best friend. And after searching SEVERAL recipes, I found one that mirrors this delicious soup perfectly. It doesn’t take long to throw together, but you could use a crockpot if you need to come home to this deliciousness in a bowl. So. Without further ado, I bring you…

Copycat Zuppa Toscana
Slightly modified from Retro Modern Mom (if you’d like to use the crockpot, follow her recipe)

5 1/2 cups chicken broth
2 cups whipping cream
2 – 4 cups chopped kale
2 – 3 potatoes, halved then thinly sliced
1 onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 lb sweet Italian sausage (I used Italian breakfast sausage)
Red pepper flakes
Salt
Pepper

Brown sausage in medium stock pot over medium heat. Add chicken broth and bring to a low boil. Add potatoes, onions and garlic. Cook 10 – 15 minutes, or until potatoes are tender. Add red pepper flakes, salt, and pepper to taste. Reduce heat to low, add cream and chopped kale. Heat through and serve.

This soup freezes pretty well, though I would recommend freezing without the kale, it gets a little soggy. We ate this yesterday with some cheesy garlic toast. It really does taste like the “real” thing, but better because it’s fresher. And from YOUR kitchen.

Enjoy, peeps!!!!

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

