My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Summer

2 Comments

The weather is getting warmer, the days longer, a sure sign that summer is almost here.

And my patience is wearing thin.

I hate summer vacation. It’s wonderful for about…. Two weeks. I get to spend every.waking.minute with my kids. Which, yay! And also, not.

I do NOT know how you homeschool moms/dads do it. Honestly. Because every single time I think about homeschooling O, I remember that the time that he is at school (and A is asleep) is THE ONLY time I get to get anything done around here without someone spouting off work stuff, or crying, or whining that they’re hungry, or hanging on me, or breast feeding, or, or, or. It makes me exhausted just thinking about it.

And before you get all high and mighty on me, and tell me how lucky I am to get to spend so much time with my kids, let ME remind YOU that I am well aware of how lucky I am. I am. Very lucky. I could have to have a job on top of all the stuff I have to do around here. And before you chime in and say that D should do more around the house, or give me more “me” time. Let me say this; he does. He takes out the trash, does the dishes every.single.night. Bathes O and reads him a bedtime story, helps with the laundry, empties the cat box, and encourages me to go for runs by myself. He hates going grocery shopping, so offers to stay home with the kids while I do that, and he even cooks dinner some nights. All while holding down a full time job. He doesn’t expect me to get up and make him breakfast or lunch. Let me tell you… I KNOW how lucky I am.

But.

But.

Summer vacation is rough. Boredom sets in early. There’s not enough around to keep O stimulated. Day trips are great, and there will probably be more happening this summer than in the past, but still exhausting for everyone, and there are things to be done when we get home. At the end of a day home (or even a day out, though I’m not exactly sure HOW it happens), this house is A MESS, and the last thing I feel like doing is cleaning up after everyone. Afternoon naps go by the wayside and by the time 630 rolls around, I have two cranky kids, a tired husband, and I’m exhausted myself. Add the heat and you have a house full of miserable peeps.

But there is hope. If I can just get myself organized…

There are exactly six school days left. That’s three regular weeks, due to O only going every other day. I have that amount of time to get my shit (and house) back together so we can have some sort of fun this summer. After all, we have a veggie garden to play in, several parks to picnic at, mountains and ocean to explore, things to celebrate, and people coming to visit.

And hopefully I can find the energy for it all.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

2 thoughts on “Summer

  1. Boredom is easily the biggest issue for summer, I agree. And trying to do things that don’t involve just plopping them in front of TV/games all day long so they have *something* to do, too. Tough, tough, tough. I think it’s probably in some ways easier for us who have them all the time, year ’round, because we don’t get used to having that extra, non-kid time, so we just…manage. Of course, this is ME saying this, when I head off to work and am not the one home all day every day, but that’s my perception.

    • I agree with you, Nathan. I DO think that it’s somewhat easier when you have them ALL the time. My landlord has all three of her girls at home, all the time. I just don’t have the patience for it. Not that my kids are a burden, because obviously they’re not. I am just a very emotionally invested person, with a kiddo who is very explosive (in both good and bad ways), and a baby who is into EVERYTHING. I kinda like the quiet sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

