My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Fun Friday Food

Leave a comment

I don’t know about you guys, but on Friday the last thing I want to do is spend time in the kitchen preparing a huge meal (unless people are coming over). I’m usually exhausted from chasing kids around all week, or I have grocery shopping to do that evening. D is in no mood to cook something because he’s been slaving at work all week, so it’s nice to have a really quick recipe to fall back on. Since we’ve revamped our diet, pizza is out and so is eating out, so I had to try some stuff until I found a healthy, fast meal to prepare for everyone (minus O). Thank goodness for my new “The Clean Eating Cookbook and Diet” book. Because it’s laid out with all sorts of sub categories, I found a “quick and easy” meal that was “low budget” and perfect for any time of year.

In my opinion, couscous is very under used. It’s light and fluffy, cooks in minutes, and is VERY versatile. It is very filling, and I love to eat it, so when I found this recipe, I wanted to try it right away. I’ve made it twice now, it reheats well (perfect for left overs for D), and even A likes it. So, I thought I would share with you all.

Before you get started, cook up some boneless, skinless chicken breast. I like to cook them in a heavy skillet with some olive oil, about eight minutes on each side, nice and golden brown.

Curry Chicken Couscous
(Found in “The Clean Eating Cookbook and Diet”)

Ingredients:

1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
1 1/2 c low-sodium chicken broth
1 c dry whole wheat couscous
1 tsp curry powder
A pinch of cinnamon
1/2 c dried apricots, chopped
1 c diced, cooked, boneless, skinless chicken breast
2 scallions, thinly sliced (I didn’t have any this time, so I omitted)
2 Tbsp sliced, toasted almonds

In a large skillet, over medium-low heat, warm the oil. Add the onion and pepper, and cook until the onion is translucent.

20140131-100336.jpg

Add the broth, turn the heat up to medium-high and bring to a boil.

Remove from the heat, stir in the couscous, curry, cinnamon and apricots. Cover, and allow it to sit for ten minutes.

20140131-100556.jpg

Fluff couscous with a fork, then stir in chicken, scallions, and almonds. Serve.

20140131-100705.jpg

That’s it, you guys. SO EASY, and SO YUMMY!!!!!!! Try it, especially when you’re on the go. It would be really easy to use leftover chicken in this, just make sure you warm it up first, and for my vegan friends… Omit the chicken, and use vegetable broth and you have an awesome side dish.

You’re welcome.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

