My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Falling Off The Wagon

Leave a comment

One of my very favorite scenes in “Batman Begins” is where Bruce falls down the well and his father (Thomas) rescues him. He says to Bruce (spoiler alert: Bruce Wayne is Batman) as they talk about it later on, “Why do we fall? So we can learn to pick ourselves back up.” It’s true on so many levels, and something that I have lived my life by for a very long time, without having the right quote to put to it.

I fell off the healthy eating wagon last night. I was grumpy, and tired, and wasn’t feeling the leftovers in the fridge that needed to be eaten, and CERTAINLY didn’t feel like cooking. So, I made D make me some bagel bites. I begged him to go get ACTUAL pizza, but he’s too good to me and said no. HE stuck to our plan (good for you, babe), but I ate a plate AND A HALF of those little fuckers.

Bad, bad, bad Megs.

But today? I’m back on board the wagon. And I got on the scale to remind me why… I’m down 4 pounds. Yes, 4 pounds in one week. It’s amazing what happens when you don’t eat Pop Tarts all the time.

I’m not perfect, I don’t pretend to be. I crave things like pizza daily. It’s my favorite food. And don’t try to convince me to eat that cauliflower crust stuff, I plan on it, but it is NOT PIZZA (my dad is laughing at me right now). All I want is some delicious take and bake cowboy pizza from good ol papa Murphy’s.

But I cannot stop myself after just one. Next week it will be something else. And the week after.

So for right now, it’s cauliflower crust for us.

And some delicious breakfast “bread.” Thank you, BIL’s girlfriend.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

