My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Day One

3 Comments

Well, here we are. After all the planning, list making, shopping, and prepping…

I am actually looking forward to all the time in the kitchen. It will be nice to do what I love, cook. Like, actually throw a meal together out of WHOLE ingredients instead of what’s easy. My very first challenge is already coming up this weekend when we have friends over for dinner.

I digress.

It’s day one. And it’s a Saturday…. Which in MY house, used to mean biscuits and homemade gravy. Or pancakes. Or cinnamon rolls and bacon.

NO MORE.

This morning, we woke up, and I made breakfast. And Mr I’m Afraid of Some Textures liked it. So, I’m sharing with you.

I LOVE quinoa. It’s so light, yet hearty, and SO SO good for you. People ask me how I use it, and in the past I’ve used it as a side dish. It never occurred to me to use it as a breakfast…

Enter my new digital BFF “The Clean Eating Cookbook and Diet,” by the Rockridge Press.

I read this book (along with a few others) cover to cover and found it to be the best fit for our family. The thing that I LOVE about this cookbook is that each recipe has one or more categories attached to it (other than your normal “breakfast” or “main course”). So if you’re looking for a recipe that is budget friendly, or quick to make, or has fall/winter produce? It makes it SUPER easy to find. So, I wanted a breakfast that was budget friendly and easy to make for our fresh start. Here’s the breakfast I chose… Try it, you’ll be surprised.

Pear Cranberry Quinoa Cereal
Serves 6

2 cups water
2 cups coconut milk
2 cups quinoa, washed and picked over
Pinch of sea salt
3 tablespoons PURE grade A maple syrup
2 pears, cored and diced
4 tablespoons dried cranberries (no sugar added, please)

In a medium saucepan, stir together water, milk, quinoa, and salt.

20140111-084508.jpg

Cover, and cook over medium heat until the mixture comes to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer until cereal reaches desired consistency. You may add more water during cooking time if cereal gets too thick.

Stir in pears, cranberries, maple syrup and serve immediately.

20140111-084800.jpg

20140111-084816.jpg

20140111-084846.jpg

20140111-084901.jpg

I added some sliced almonds on the top, just because we love almonds… It seriously was delicious. Not too sweet, a little crunchy, and just the right amount of hearty. Perfect for this rainy morning.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

3 thoughts on “Day One

  1. Yay! This looks delicious, when i move to New Zealand I’m going to be doingva make over on my life which includes eating healthy. I am a honest-to-god awful cook though, so lots of practice will be needed. Also I am not a morning person, but I love breakfast. How long in total did it take to make this?

    • Stupid WordPress, lemme try that again.

      It took like, 30 minutes? The longest part is waiting for it to simmer.

      I LOVE to cook, if you ever have ANY questions, holler.

      • Haha I always have a million questions when cooking that’s not an offer you want to make with me. I just don’t have any of those automatic instincts people have when cooking.

        Its funny because I wanted to be a chef when I was little, and then I grew up and became awful at cooking, so that dream was quickly eradicated.

Leave a Reply

