My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Reflections at 6 am

Leave a comment

The presents are all opened, the toys put together by capable hands, the wrapping paper ready to be burned. All those weeks spent preparing, and in a flash, it’s all over.

I’m so thankful this year.

I started off in an anxiety ridden depression. Homesick, sad, anxious, tired, sore – you name it, I felt it these last few weeks. But two nights ago, as I looked around my brother and new sister in law’s living room, I felt so lucky. And then, yesterday, my heart and soul just felt… full. I still miss the family I was born into, terribly… More than I could ever express in words. And I envy those people who get to spend every major holiday with them. But for the first time in a long time, I felt a sort of peace with being far away.

A lot has happened over the last five years or more. I have the most amazing little family, my boys and me. This year may not have had as many material things as last year (hello WiiU), but the walls of this little (well, not so little) apartment are BURSTING with love. And pride. And laughter.

Here’s to the holiday season (thank fricking goodness it’s over); past, present, and future. Here’s to the most amazing three men in my life, full grown and in training. Here’s to more love than I know what to do with sometimes.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

