My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Looking to 2014

Leave a comment

I don’t do new Year’s resolutions anymore. Every year I make them, every year I fail. I go full force, non-stop into them for about a month and then I either forget about them, or I just get bored. So, this year (I realize I’m very early with this post), I said NO MAS.

Don’t get me wrong, goals are important. And I haz dem. I have many, actually. Some very small and realistic, and others large and more along the path of a dream than a goal. But 2014 is going to be a very important year for me. There are a few things that I am choosing to focus on, and I’m starting now.

1) Our Finances: I suuuuuuuuck with money, and let’s be honest, D really isn’t much better than I am. So this year is the year we get our shit together. The goal? A no-spend January (more on that later), to get us back on the plus, and continue to be on the plus from then on… Instead of just breaking even. So, I’m putting it out there for all to read because we need help staying accountable. Go us.

2) For The Love of Blogging: I just need to do it more. NaBloPoMo helped me rekindle my love of blogging, so I’m making an effort to blog more. There’s no reason I can’t, seriously. Cleaning the bathroom can make way for something I love. Because even the OCD part of me hates cleaning the bathroom.

3) Being The Love: a friend of ours recently said something to D along the lines of “your wife pushes peoples’ buttons. She doesn’t MEAN to, and it’s not on purpose, she just does it.” I took this as I have NO filter. Which, let’s get real, is totally true. I’m not afraid to point out the things that I observe to the people I observe them about… Whether they want to hear it or not. Most of the time I justify it by saying I’m being the voice of reason, or that they NEEDED to hear it. But a lot of the time, no one asks me for my opinion. That’s not true, people do, I just need to find a more loving way to say it. Anyone who has known me for a LONG time knows that this is something I’ve ALWAYS struggled with, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve gotten better about being more tactful about it. This year, I’m working on being the love. Being more loving toward my friends, my family, my kiddos, my hubby, etc. Tough love is good, but not all the time.

4) Hitting the Pavement: whether it’s walking or running, I need to get back out there. No excuses.

So there you have it. Just a small list of some of my goals for 2014. What do YOU want to do in the new year?

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

