My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Let’s Talk Food… Again

Leave a comment

It’s a well known fact around my husband’s work that this girl can bake. I’m always sending treats with him, with empty places coming back home. It makes me feel good. I love cooking/baking for people. So, when I heard that there were several people at his work who liked cheesecake, I knew right away what I was going to make.

It’s fall, which means that pumpkin is EVERYWHERE. From muffins to lattes, pies and cakes, everyone, everywhere is adding pumpkin to everything. I didn’t want to feel left out, sooooo I made Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars to send with D to work. I also sent a picture to The BFF who promptly asked for the recipe. So, being the AWESOME friend I am, I’m sharing.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars
adapted from The Neelys on Food Network

Ingredients:

Crust
2 packages graham crackers, crumbed
8 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cloves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 9 x 13 pan with foil (yes, the inside. Trust me, it will make things easier later). Combine all crust ingredients and press into bottom of pan. Bake for 10 minutes, let cool.

Cheesecake
32 oz (4-8 oz packages) cream cheese, softened
1 3/4 cup sugar
15 oz (1 can) pumpkin
5 large eggs
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp vanilla
2 Tbsp flour

Combine cream cheese and sugar, beat until light and fluffy. Add pumpkin, then eggs (one at a time, please) mixing until combined between each. Add spices and vanilla, mix until thoroughly combined. Add flour, stir until incorporated. Pour filling over crust, shaking pan gently to level out cheesecake. Bake in a water bath* for 1 hour 20 minutes or until center moves slightly when the pan is shaken. Remove from water bath, and let cool 20 minutes. Using foil, take bars out of pan and place in refrigerator for at least 4 hours before serving. Top with Cinnamon Whipped Cream (recipe follows).

Cinnamon Whipped Cream
1 cup heavy cream, chilled
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon

Combine all, whip until peaks form. Spread over bars prior to cutting.

* I simply placed a pan filled with water on the bottom rack of my oven. The purpose of a water bath is to create steam, which will help your cheesecake to not crack or dry out. If you HAVE a pan big enough to put your 9 x 13 pan in, awesome. Use it.

So there you have it, peeps. Make them. They’re delicious.

20131118-095245.jpg

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

