My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

A Longing

Leave a comment

It’s been over a year.

I can’t remember what it feels like.

It’s hard to get back out there. It’s hard to not find excuse after excuse, day after day. But I long for it.

I long to feel the cold air on my cheeks, and the wind in my ears. I want to remember what it feels like to have my feet hit the pavement over and over again, making my way through the trees. The sense of accomplishment after being at it for thirty minutes or more, the “high” afterwards. I just want to get back to it.

September 30, 2012

September 30, 2012

This was the last time I ran. Five days before I found out I was pregnant with A. I crossed the finish line at my third 5k (My second Bellingham Bay 5k), and I never looked back. I beat my previous year’s time, and although I didn’t race as well as I wanted to (hello… now I know why), I did it. I finished in less than 45 minutes. And I was SO proud of myself.

I didn’t run at all during my pregnancy. I didn’t feel like it, and it was probably a good thing since I had a partial placenta previa. My intentions were to get back out as soon as possible after A was born. I had even considered signing up for this year’s BB5k, and doing it whether I was ready or not. That weekend has long since passed, and here I sit…

I even got new running shoes.

This is MY time of year to run. Forget the summer, I hate running in the heat. But give me a cool fall day and I could be out there for a while. I will even run in the rain. As a matter of fact? I like it. I don’t sweat as much, and if I do, I just blame it on the pouring down rain. There’s something really wonderful about getting out there on the trails this time of year (the paved ones, I’m not THAT crazy).

I have everything I need to get back out there. New shoes, a jogging stroller that A loves, time to do it (while O is in school), and yet…

I just need to get back out there.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

