My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

An Anniversary To Remember

Leave a comment

It’s been a week around here, let me tell you.

I remember now why I don’t blog as much. I don’t really have the time to sit down and write. And when I do, sit down to write that is, one kid or another needs something. Or I get distracted by Facebook (just being honest). I have to tell O that I’m “working” in order to get the ten or fifteen minutes I need to bang something out on the keyboard. Oh what I wouldn’t give for a laptop, or even my very own tablet, to blog on (HINT, HINT).

N-E-Way.

Yesterday was a very special day. It’s the anniversary of adding a new member to my family. The NINE YEAR anniversary.

My parents split when I was 7. My dad remarried when I was 10, to a woman I’d known most of my young life already, and they’ve been married ever since. My mom, on the other hand, did not. She went back to college, had a few career changes, and really took the time to figure out who she was. Which was good, and hard, and really, really good.

During that process, long after I had moved out (and back in, and back out again), she met a man. They worked together at the local food bank, and (from the story I’ve been told) he chased her. For months. Which is awesome. FINALLY she went out with him, and yay!!!! They got married.

Okay, I’m sure there were details that I missed in there somewhere. But I do know they worked together, and he DID ask her out, and she DID turn him down at first, and they DID get married. So, yanno, I got all the important stuff.

ANYWAY, back to nine years ago.

I was newly married myself (only 5 months into my own marriage), and had to board a plane without my new husband. I didn’t want to go without him, but it’s not every day your Mom gets married (or maybe your mom DOES get married every day, I don’t know. I’m not judging…), so I went. And I helped… sorta. I remember getting into a heated discussion with my mother about my wearing just my tank top and skirt because of my tattoo on my back. So, being the helpful daughter I am, I put on a long sleeved shirt. I’m all about helping my mother out…

The ceremony was simple and beautiful. The reception wonderful. And my new step brother and I had lots of fun filling the truck up with stuff, and tying cans to the bumper. Oh! And writing stuff on the windows.

Thank goodness Bill has a sense of humor.

It took me a while to warm up to Bill, I’ll be honest. After several of my own failed relationships, and one of my mother’s that hurt me deeply, I was weary. But he was SO patient with me. We would visit, and he would be nice, and hilarious, and just an all around good guy. D liked him from the moment he met him because they’re a lot alike in the humor department. But I just didn’t know. It SHOULD have been good enough for me that my mom was happy, and eventually it was. I’m glad that I took the time to get to know him, and have come to REALLY respect and love him.

He’s a great man. I cannot say that enough. There’s not one single complaint that I have about him. He’s solid, and honest, and hilarious, and handsome, and dependable, and just…. REAL. And he loves fiercely. He loves my mom, he loves his kids, he loves his parents, he loves D, he LOVES his grandkids, and he loves me. He does what he thinks is right, and is a strong, solid dude. He’s got a soft side, too. And I admire the way he takes care of things…. both people AND stuff.

If it wasn’t for Bill, I don’t know what my mom would do. They’re such a good fit. And together, they’re just…. good for each other. I’m so glad they found each other.

Image

NINE YEARS?!?! I cannot even believe it. I love you both. I admire your relationship. And I am SO glad you’ve found each other. Stay cool, you crazy kats. We love you. Happy Anniversary (yesterday).

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

