My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

Welcome Baby A

Leave a comment

Now that the party is all over… I can settle in to November and write about other things. Most importantly…. the best day of the summer.

020

It was SUPPOSED to be THIS day, June 23rd. As you can see, I was very pregnant. Although I will admit, this pregnancy was VERY different in the last in that I never gained more weight than I lost in the beginning. That means I weigh less now than I did when I got pregnant. Yay me.

ANNNNNNNYWAAAAAAY.

We went for a walk down by the bay (just like I did with Kiddo #1 on the day I went into labor) hoping to GET DIS BABEH OUTTA MEH RIGHT NAOW! Because that’s how I was feeling since before my baby shower at the time. I kept WANTING something to happen so bad that I kept swearing something was happening. Unfortunately for me, he would wait for FOUR MORE DAYS.

032

Sooooooo this was me, four days later… in bed. Because I had been having contractions that were 5 minutes apart for the last 16 hours. I couldn’t figure out what in the hell was going on, and why they weren’t getting any closer…. so I just figured the baby wasn’t coming yet. So did my midwives (and my far off doula, Lisa), so they wanted me to try and get some sleep.

IMG_0041

This is me… “resting.” In typical me fashion, I finally called the midwives and told them what was happening… to which they said “Let’s have an appointment this afternoon and see what’s going on.” So I walked around my house, sat in the rocker, laid in my bed, walked around the house some more…. and labored… until 4:45 pm when I was told I would be staying at the birth center because I was actually IN labor, and 5 cm dilated.

I had this idea of how I wanted things to go this time. I knew what I was in for, as Kiddo #1 was born au natural (including sans drugs) in a bathtub at the birth center only 5 1/2 years before, and I was SO SURE it would go the same way this time. I knew that my labor would be shorter (because that’s the case with MOST second children) and I knew that it may be a bit more intense as I was now older and creakier. What I was NOT prepared for, however, is back labor.

I can’t even explain to those who have never been through back labor what it actually FEELS like… but I’m gonna go out on a limb and say that it’s probably one of the most painful experiences I have ever had. And that’s saying something. I tried to remember every wise word I had ever given anyone I knew who was going to attempt to have a baby naturally. I tried to remember every funny thing I had ever known. I tried to remember that in the grand scheme of things…. this wasn’t that long. I tried to remember the loss I felt after my miscarriage, and how happy I would be when this little dude was actually here. I also tried to remember that I didn’t wanna completely lose my cool and cuss a whole bunch. That last part was a little far fetched if you know me AT ALL, but I managed mostly.

I almost didn’t make it. I remember thinking at one point “they’re gonna have to take me to the hospital. There is no way in HELL I can do this this way, this time.” They tried to get me out of the tub at one point, and I listened, but I got right back in because that’s where I wanted to be. It may not have gone as smoothly as I had remembered the first birth being, but after four hours at the birth center, including an hour of some pretty intense pushing…. he was here.

Kiddo #2. Or Baby A. Or Archer Odell if you’re so inclined.

IMG_0048

Born on June 27th, 2013 (4 days late), at 8:43 pm, weighing 8 lbs 10 oz, and measuring 21″ long. We were home and in our own beds a little after midnight.

It may not have gone exactly how I had remembered it. It may not have been the way I pictured it in my mind. It may not have even been the way I told people it was going to be. But there is no doubt in my mind that it was perfect. And it just keeps getting more and more perfect as the days go on.

He’s so different from his big brother, yet fits in our family like he’s been here for years. I was afraid that I wouldn’t have room in my heart for two little boys. But I know fully understand how you can love each of your children in such different ways. Where Kiddo #1 is my light, Kiddo #2 is my sky. Kiddo #2 is my yin, #1 my yang. They’re so completely different, yet unmistakably brothers. And I cannot wait to see how their relationship grows over their lifetime.

IMG_0049

So here it is, Baby Archer. You’re official welcome to the world (albeit a little later than Mommy had planned). We are SO glad you’re here.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

Leave a Reply

