My Hearth and Heart

Because my heart is always at home

I’m not dying anymore

2 Comments

After two days of feeling funky, I am happy to announce to those who care (and those who don’t) that I am feeling better today. Not well enough to eat the pineapple I did this morning, but let’s not talk about that. No one cares about that, trust me.

I hate getting sick. I hate not feeling right. I’m pretty aware of my body anyway, so even just the littlest tweak sends me into slight panic mode. Other stay at home moms know what I mean. What kind of trouble is my kid going to get into today? Will he let me snooze on the couch? Even just for thirty minutes? Then you walk into the kitchen, see the mess of dishes that need to be done, and try your best to do them annnnd almost pass out. Yeah, that was me yesterday. And the day before. And I blame the Hubby.

See, Mr Superman NEVER gets sick. Dude is seriously Superman. He brings home all kinds of sickness, and then never EVER has to take a sick day. Which come December, when they’re forced to take two weeks off, will come in really handy. But most of the time it’s just super annoying.

But! Now I am feeling better. So now I need to spend today and tomorrow preparing for Sunday morning’s race.

I am a little excited, I’ve been looking forward to this event since I signed up in January. One year ago, this weekend, I ran this same race. It was my very first 5k. And I finished below the time I had set for myself. After everything I have been through this year, it’s exciting to go back and see just how far I have come in a year.

Last year, my SIL ran with me, this year? I’m going solo. And at first I was really bummed about that. A few people said they would run it, and then due to life (which happens) they aren’t. And I’m actually really okay with that. Because if there is one thing I learned this year, it’s that I need something that’s mine. Something that I am doing just for me. Not because someone thinks I should, or because everyone else is doing it, running is something that I do for me. For my health, for my sanity, as a coping skill, for fun. I do it for me.

So yes, I do have expectations about this weekend. Cross the finish line, run more than I walk, have fun, finish faster than my last race. But those things are goals made by me. And I plan on blowing them out of the water.

Because I know I can.

Author: Meghann

Stay at home mommy, wife, daughter, sister and friend. This is my place to brag about my kids, my husband, my family, my friends... and to get a little opinionated.

2 thoughts on “I’m not dying anymore

  1. Yayayaya! Gooooo Megs! Good luck this weekend!

Leave a Reply

